Bazaruto Archipelago, Mozambique

Bazaruto Archipelago in Mozambique, Southern Africa

The Bazaruto Archipelago in Mozambique is a group of 6 islands near the city of Vilankulo mainland. This isolated ecosystem became a national park in 1971 and comprises the islands of Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Banque, Santa Carolina (also known as Paradise Island) and Shell. The group belongs to the Vilankulo and Inhassoro districts of Inhambane Province.

Tourist attractions include beaches, coral reefs and opportunities for pristine scuba diving, surfing and fishing. There is a great abundance of reef fish, parrots and butterfly fish, to name but a few. Giant turtles, fish and game Devil Rays are seen regularly. All marine animals live freely in this preserved paradise. Santa Carolina is a true dream island with deep channels and 3 by 0,5 km in size. It has coral reefs near the shore and 3 beautiful beaches.

More information about the Region

Go to top